designtrack Journal

← Back

Destroy Today

Christopher Murphy

Destroy Today

As I noted in my first post, I have a tradition of starting a new site with minimal styling. I was delighted when Chris McClelland – one of Propel’s mentors – highlighted Jonnie Hallman’s Destroy Today raw redesign.

Hallman is a friend of mine (and an incredibly talented one, at that). Many years ago, I collected him from the airport in Belfast, when he arrived for the final instalment of Build. (I have fond memories of that time.)

I don’t know how I missed his redesign in the open, but needless to say, I was delighted when I saw it. As Hallman put it, in his opening post:

Rather than fall into the trap of writing serious, heavily-edited, long-form blog posts, I’ll try my best to keep these short, frequent, and to-the-point.

His aim is to spend no more than a quarter of an hour per post. I suspect – given that I’m documenting my journey on Propel – that timeframe might be a little tight for me, but I will endeavour to post frequently and keep my posts focused.

As Hallman concludes his opening article: “I already feel like I’ve written too much. Keep an eye on this space, and keep me active if I start to slack.”

I’d urge you to do the same: If I forget to post, feel free to give me the nudge I need.

—Christopher, @fehler

About the author…

A designer, writer and speaker based in Belfast, Christopher mentors purpose-driven businesses, helping them to launch and thrive. He’s currently building designtrack, an education-focused startup.

As a design strategist, Christopher has worked with companies, large and small, to help drive innovation, drawing on his 25+ years of experience working with clients including: Adobe, EA and the BBC.

Subscribe

Subscribe to get weekly updates and lessons learned from our journey towards building a (hopefully!) successful startup.

This is broken. I’m working on it now.