designtrack Journal

← Back

Hello, World!

Christopher Murphy

Hello, World!

It’s been a time-honoured tradition of mine to launch any new journal with a short ‘Hello, World!’ post. In that post, I set out my intentions and outline what I hope to achieve through this particular body of writing.

I’m also known for embracing a raw, minimally styled approach when I’m focused primarily on content. The primary benefit of this approach is a focus on content first, design second (if, indeed, I focus on design at all).

I’m excited to be starting my journey into 2020 as one of 5% of applicants who were accepted onto Ignite’s Propel pre-accelerator programme, to develop my new startup, designtrack.

I’ll be maintaining a journal here, noting lessons I’ve learned on the programme, so I can return to them later. (I have a dreadful memory.)

This journal is largely a personal affair, but others may find some value in it. If that’s you, I’m glad you find the content useful. Feel free to get in touch, I’d love to hear from you.

Starting a startup is like getting a ticket for a rollercoaster ride: you have days where you feel that nothing the world can throw at you will shake your beliefs; but you also have days where you find yourself questioning everything.

I’ll be honest: I’ll share the highs and the lows of my startup journey. Through honesty, I hope to document what it’s like to embark on a new venture, one where you are simultaneously filled with determination and doubt.

If you’re following along, I hope you enjoy the journey.

—Christopher, @fehler

About the author…

A designer, writer and speaker based in Belfast, Christopher mentors purpose-driven businesses, helping them to launch and thrive. He’s currently building designtrack, an education-focused startup.

As a design strategist, Christopher has worked with companies, large and small, to help drive innovation, drawing on his 25+ years of experience working with clients including: Adobe, EA and the BBC.

Subscribe

Subscribe to get weekly updates and lessons learned from our journey towards building a (hopefully!) successful startup.

This is broken. I’m working on it now.